Pre-Seed Workshop - New York
Pre-Seed Workshop - New York
Pre-Seed Workshop - New York
"Creating economic growth in today's Knowledge-Based Economy requires that regions find ways to convert local technology assets and intellectual property into revenue producing businesses.  The Pre-Seed Workshop is a perfect vehicle to accomplish this goal."

Jim Senall
High Technology of Rochester

Back to Facilitators


Joseph Scaduto, M.S., M.B.A.




Mr. Scaduto is currently the Founder and CEO of Traverse Biosciences Inc., an emerging bioscience company commercializing a proprietary library of novel drug candidates to treat chronic inflammatory conditions affecting humans and animals.  Mr. Scaduto is also a Co-Founder and Managing Partner of Hairpin Technologies Inc., the exclusive licensing. agent of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL) to expand the commercial distribution and use of small hairpin RNA (shRNA). 

Scaduto was previously designated as an external BioEntrepreneur-In-Residence (B-EIR) by the philanthropic Advisory Board of the Center for Biotechnology at Stony Brook University. Mr. Scaduto has also served as the Assistant Director of Business Development at the Center for Biotechnology, as well as the founding Executive Director of the Long Island Life Sciences Initiative (LILSI).  He has over 13 years of experience providing business development expertise, strategic planning services and technology commercialization guidance to emerging and expanding bioscience companies on Long Island and throughout New York State.

Until accepting the B-EIR opportunity in June 2013, Mr.
Scaduto served on the Tenant Selection and Review Committee of the Stony Brook University Incubator Program, including the Long Island High Technology Incubator (LIHTI), and was Chair of the Bioscience Screening Committee of the Long Island Angel Network (LIAN).  Mr. Scaduto was also an active member of the Economic Development Council at Stony Brook University, the Advisory Board of the Clean Energy Business Incubation Program (CEBIP), the Selection Committee of the annual Long Island Technology Hall of Fame, and the Advisory Committee of the Long Island Index produced annually by the Rauch Foundation